Simply Chinese

7 Feb

For this past week I decided to go with something a little simpler. In celebration of Chinese New Year I knew I wanted to go with Chinese dishes. I decided on black pepper chicken, kailan(Chinese broccoli) with oyster sauce and ABC soup(at least that’s what we call it back home in Malaysia).

Black Pepper Chicken

The black pepper chicken wasn’t too hard to make. I decided not to put too much soy sauce and marinated the chicken with less soy sauce than the recipe suggested. Other than that, it turned out pretty well. I added more black pepper as well to bring out the peppery taste.

Kailan with Oyster Sauce

I didn’t really follow a recipe for this dish, but the closest you could probably find would be this recipe. This dish is really easy to make. All you need to do is blanch the kailan until you’re satisfied with its texture and then take them out, cool it in a bowl of icy cold water, then serve with oyster sauce on top. I suggest making this dish your last.

ABC Soup

I really don’t know why it’s called ABC soup, but I decided to make it because I miss it, haha. It’s probably one of the easier soups to make. No recipe needed. Chop up potatoes, carrots, onions and chicken slices(preferably bone-in chicken, but I used chicken breasts for this one). Put it into a big pot with water depending on the amounts of servings you’d like. Boil for at least two hours, I did mine for 1 1/2 hours, until the potatoes are all mashed up. Add salt and pepper to taste. That’s it, very easy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

